Word Up

14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. 15 John bare witness of him, and cried, saying, This was he of whom I spake, He that cometh after me is preferred before me: for he was before me. 16 And of his fulness have all we received, and grace for grace. John 1:13-16 (KJV) This verse from John, who was the first to use the title of Baptist has been on my mind of late. The Word was made flesh. This statement refers to Jesus as being the Word of God made flesh. Here is another few verses; 3 And God said, Let there be light: and there was light Gen 1:3 (KJV) 6 And God said, Let there be a firmament in the midst of the waters, and let it divide the waters from the waters. Gen 1:6 (KJV) 9 And God said, Let the waters under the heaven be gathered together unto one place, and let the dry land appear: and it was so Gen 1:9 (KJV) These are scriptures we know well as the story of creation. My question to you is; How did God create? It says in verses 3, 6, and 9 that ‘God said…’ God used words to create. Words are powerful. Words are the beginning and end of most of the events that happen on this Earth. It takes a very perceptive person to know the meaning of each and every word spoken. Our words can hurt or uplift the people we come into contact with on a day to day basis, so we must choose our words carefully. I have had to say I’m sorry more times than I can count because I said something without thinking about. Jesus was the Word made flesh. Let’s let him have control of our own words too. Ask Jesus to guide your tongue and use it only for good. I know He’s better at it than I am.

Leave a Reply

