Follow the Leader

I had an interesting conversation with my daughter last Saturday.  We were discussing the points of a Christian life, and the requirements of living our lives for Christ.  I have thought long and hard over this subject, and the more I think on it the more I realize how much I need to leave that in God’s hands.  We are supposed to spread the good news of Jesus Christ, and how he died for our sins.  Not only our sins, but for the sins of all who accept him as their Lord and Savior.  I have heard some Christians that say that want to lead people to the cross.  I think that is truly a noble ambition, but I don’t believe it is possible.  You see, in my opinion, no one can hear the truth of the gospel unless God is already working within their hearts.  So, no amount of speaking or testifying from me will change how a person believes until God opens their minds and hearts to receive it. That doesn’t mean I am to stop testifying, it simply means that I should learn how to listen to that ‘still small voice’ from God to know when my testimony will land in fertile soil.  It is not what I do, but what God does through me.  If I start trying to lead someone, I am sure I will botch it and then we both shall be lost.  Do not follow me, but follow the one that I follow and maybe we can strengthen each other along the way.

Leave a Reply

