Sadness And Forgiveness

I was tortured over the idea of writing a blog about the shooting incident in Connecticut this week.  Not that I didn’t agonize over the deaths of those innocent children, or that  my heart didn’t break from the pain I knew their parents were going through.  I just didn’t think that I could say anything that wasn’t already being shouted at the top of digital lungs all over the internet.  And the things that they were saying were much more eloquent than I myself could say.  At the same time, I saw a post from an associate tearing down religion and how believing that ‘anything’ can be forgiven was wrong.  I will probably be blasted for what I am about to say, but I feel the need to say it anyway.  Do I believe you can be forgiven for anything? Yes, I do.  Jesus forgave people for all sorts of heinous crimes, and He instructed us as Christians to do likewise. Jesus said the only sin that couldn’t be forgiven was to Blaspheme against the Holy Ghost, or to ‘disbelieve in God’, and if you disbelieve in God who would you ask forgiveness from?  Now, that being said, I would also like to make a clarification. Just because you are forgiven of a sin does not mean you are not held accountable for your sins in this life.  When David sinned by sending Bathsheba’s husband to the front lines to be killed, he paid for it.  The child she conceived with him died.  David suffered many rifts in his family because of that sin, even though he had asked for forgiveness from it.  Moses did not get to enter into the Promised Land because he had sinned against God.  By striking the rock, he disobeyed God and thus paid for his disobedience in this life.  God is the answer to all things.  I believe IF you are truly sorry of your sins, AND you are repentant of them, they can be forgiven.  Does that mean you are getting off ‘scott free’?  No, my friends, if you are sorry and repentant then you have already begun to pay for that sin.

Leave a Reply

