Just Stewing

I have been doing some studying during my scripture reading this last week.  I have been studying a little bit about Jacob and Esau.  You know the story of how Esau sold his birthright to Jacob for a bowl of stew.  That is one of the famous Bible Stories that I think almost everyone has heard in one form or another.  Most of the time that is all they remember about the story though.  But from my studies, I learned that God Himself said that even before the twins were born He loved Jacob and hated Esau (Mal 1:2,3).  This is one of those mysteries in the Bible that I look at from a million possible angles trying to figure out why?  Why did God hate Esau?  I understand how He could hate Esau before he was born (seeing as how time doesn’t affect the Almighty the way it does us mortals), but what did Esau do to rate that type of condemnation from God?  As much as I’ve studied it, I can only come up with one answer.  Attitude.  Esau was a hunter, and great woodsman.  He had a lot of pride in the things he could do as a hunter.  His skills were the envy of many.  That kind of skill can lead to arrogance.  Once you fall prey to that, you begin to drift away from God.  You begin to think more along the lines of look at all that I have accomplished instead of look what God has given me the ability to accomplish.  Arrogance is a dangerous thing because it sneaks up on you when you’re not looking.  Esau did not appreciate the gift of his position of 1st born that God had given him.  If he had, he wouldn’t have sold it for a bowl of stew.  And then later Esau blamed Jacob for deceiving him into selling that birthright (Gen 27:36).  Be thankful for what God has given you and trust in Him to provide.  It will be a whole lot more fulfilling than a bowl of

Leave a Reply

