Drop That Line

Anybody that knows me, knows that I believe that words are powerful things.  The right word said at the right time can heal wounds and give courage to those that are weary.  Unfortunately the reverse is also true.  The wrong word said at the wrong time could be devastating.  It has been known to cause relationships to fail, and friendships to splinter.  But there is also a third option besides the right words and the wrong words.  There is also silence.  When nothing is said it can also be misinterpreted as indifference.  I know that my life gets hectic.  Time gets tight and schedules seem to run rampant as I rush to get done what should have been done weeks ago.  I try to keep that in mind when I don’t hear from a good friend in a while, or when I think I really don’t matter to that someone that hasn’t contacted me in a while.  Still, sometimes I wish I could just stop everything and catch back up with those people.  Find out how they’re doing, and how life has been treating them.  So I try to drop them a line.  It may only be just a ‘hello’ or a ‘how ya been’ but it is sent with more than just those words.  It means ‘I’ve missed talking with you’ and ‘forgive me for getting distracted by the demands of this world’.  This wasn’t really what I had planned on writing my blog about this week, but it felt like the right thing once it started rolling.  Someone out there wants to hear from you.  Maybe you should drop them a line.  Who knows; it may be just what they have been missing lately.

Leave a Reply

