A Few Words On Faith

I read a few articles about faith on the internet yesterday (at the time of this writing).  As I scrolled down through the comments I realized a lot of people were being hypocrites without realizing it.  One person gave the definition of faith as ‘believing without proof.’  Maybe that is a fair definition, but you have to qualify it too.  Everyone believes something, and everyone has reasons for their beliefs.  The thing is, we all believe things on ‘hearsay’ evidence.  Why do you believe in Darwinisim, or the Big Bang Theory? Because someone told you about it (that includes reading about it).  You can scream all you want that you did your research on it, but the fact of the matter is, at one point or another you are taking someone else’s word for truth.  Even as Christians we take the Bible as truth, and what is the Bible but eyewitness accounts of the miracles that God performed.  No one person has witnessed it all.  You can spit and scream and cuss about it all you want, but the fact remains that you don’t know.  That’s why Christians say that you have to have faith.  Faith is a choice, regardless of what it is you are placing that faith in.  I repect your choice to believe in Evolution or the theory of Nature.  I will not make fun of you for it, and in return I ask for that same respect.  It makes me sad that you don’t believe, but I’m not going to try to force you to.  If you’re interested in my faith, ask me.  I would be happy to discuss it with you.  I have found that it makes my faith stronger when people question me about it.  We can all talk about it civilly regardless of our beliefs.  If you can’t then you need to ask yourself why it is causing you to become angry.

Leave a Reply

