Art, The Bible and Hidden Knowledge

I am an artist. I have been working with 3D art for the past year or so, and I have to say I’m getting pretty good at it. When working with my art, I save a lot of different versions of the same pictures. This one may have a different colored building, that one might have an added reflection or signpost. It’s usually the same picture with just a few added details. But sometimes I mess up (calm down. It doesn’t happen often, but it does happen from time to time.), and save a picture with a mistake in it. Some people might not see the mistake, but I would every time I looked at it. This was the lesson I learned in Bible Study Sunday morning this week. I have read through the Bible and there have been versus that I didn’t understand. I took it on faith that God would reveal their hidden meanings when I was ready. One such verse is in the very first book, Genesis.

22 And the LORD God said, Behold, the man is become as one of us, to know good and evil: and now, lest he put forth his hand, and take also of the tree of life, and eat, and live for ever: 23 Therefore the LORD God sent him forth from the garden of Eden, to till the ground from whence he was taken. 24 So he drove out the man; and he placed at the east of the garden of Eden Cherubims, and a flaming sword which turned every way, to keep the way of the tree of life. Gen 3:22-24 (KJV)

Verse 22 was very confusing to me until Sunday. I kept wondering why? Why would God not want us to live forever? Now the answer to this question may seem obvious to some, but that is the way the Lord speaks. It doesn’t matter how many times you show someone something, they will not understand it until they are ready to receive it. Anyway, Sunday I realized why. We were a flawed image because we had chosen to sin against God. Had we been allowed to eat of the fruit of eternal life, yes we would have lived forever, but it would have been in the sorry state that we are now, flawed and imperfect. So people may actually think that God banishing us from the Garden of Eden was a punishment, but in reality He was saving us from ourselves. This is the secret hidden in those lines of scripture. He denied us eternal life in a corrupt shell. After seeing this, I now look back and wonder why I didn’t see it before. Sometimes the knowledge is in plain sight, you just have to wait for the right time for your eyes to be opened.

Leave a Reply

