Memory Lane Revisited

I sat here tonight trying to come up with a blog entry to write, and my mind became a perfect blank.  The first sentence I tried to write was wrong.  I could feel it.  So I thought some more, and still ‘got nothing’.  As a fall back I looked back through my past blogs to try and give me some ideas, and I came across ‘Memory Lane’.  I posted it back in 2009 and as I read through it, I relived what I was thinking when I wrote it.  That was a good thing, and I thought it was worth reposting.  So here we go; revisiting Memory Lane.

Memory Lane: Originally Posted the week of November 29, 2009.

Today I found myself taking a walk down memory lane.  I don’t do that often.  There are tender spots back there and I don’t particularly like who I was back then.  I’ve been saved since I was eight or nine years old.  I don’t remember exactly because I have been away from God far enough that I doubted my salvation.  Thanks to a merciful God, He gave me the time I needed to realize how bad I could screw up.  He stood there waiting patiently until I needed Him, and then He led me back to where I needed to be.  All of that was before I actually had a relationship with God.  I’ve heard people say that over and over, and I never really understood it until these last six years.  My God was the Fire and Brimstone God, the God who waited for you to mess up.  The God that you served out of fear.  I didn’t know the other side of God.  The encouraging God, the gentle God that wants you to succeed.  The God that stands there waiting for you to return to Him.  The God who waits for you to realize you can’t do it on your own, because sometimes the child has to touch the stove to realize what ‘hot’ means.  He is not a vindictive God.  He doesn’t wait with the hammer poised above your head for you to mess up like I believed in my youth.  I don’t regret all those years of floundering about out in the world, because I realize that they were a necessity for me to become the man I am today.  I had to travel that road to help form the tool that God could use to do His will.  Yes it is tender back there on Memory Lane, but pain is a teacher I am well acquainted with.  I know that I was really blessed all those years but was too blinded by pride to see it.  I let the Devil mesmerize me with shiny baubles and parlor tricks.  All the while my God stood waiting for me to call out for Him.  All he needed was for me to call on Him and He was right there with me, showing me the way back.  Memory Lane IS still a little painful for me, but I still stroll down it on occasions to remind myself of the lessons I’ve learned, and that I am not who I once was.  My relationship with God began a scant six years ago even though my walk with God began when I was eight or nine.  I still make mistakes. I am still just a man.  I still fight with carnal side as much as any other human being, but I am not blind to the fact that I am not alone.  I see the miracles God works for me everyday.  I see the blessings He pours out on me as I journey through this world of tears.  It gives me hope that I can be what He always planned for me to be.   I don’t have to look far into the past or future.  I can be content with what I am at this one moment in time.  So don’t worry about the past.  Try to be as perfect in this one moment as you can be.  Practice this.  Just try to be as perfect as you can be in this one moment, and before you know it you’ll have a string of those moments.  You will mess up, but all God asks is that we try.

Leave a Reply

